Adolescent Friendly Health Clinics (AFHCs)

Adolescent Friendly Health Clinics (AFHCs) at District level will be designated as Adolescent Health Resource Centre (A-HRC). These centres apart from providing the full complement of services envisioned for AFHC will also act as resource centre for capacity building of health care providers and repository for Information, Education and Communication materials on Adolescent Health such as posters, banners, pamphlets, audio-video materials.

Counselors play a crucial role in operationalization of Adolescent Friendly Health Clinics (AFHCs). They Inform, educate and counsel clients on Adolescent Health issues and refer clients to health facilities, or other service delivery points such as Integrated Counselling Testing Centre (ICTC), de-addiction centre, Non Communicable Diseases clinics etc. Besides this, outreach services by counsellors are carried out at schools, colleges, youth clubs and in community at least twice a week to sensitize the adolescents, caregivers and influencers on various adolescent health issues and apprise them of various available adolescent friendly health services.

It is important to recognise that AFHCs is a part of a wider package of adolescent healthservices. Adolescent Friendly Health Clinics will have strong linkages with Peer Education Programme. Adolescent Health Day and Adolescent Friendly Clubs will work as a platform for referral of clients to the Adolescent Friendly Health Clinics.

The six strategic Priorities of this Programme:

- 1. Nutrition
- 2. Sexual and Reproductive Health
- 3. Non Communicable diseases

- 4. Substance misuse
- 5. Injuries and violence
- 6. Mental Health

The seven critical components of this strategy

- 1. Coverage
- 2. Content
- 3. Communities
- 4. Clinics
- 5. Counseling
- 6. Communication
- 7. Convergence

The adolescents' health care is covered with

- 1. Weekly iron
- 2. Folic acid supplementation
- 3. Nutrition conseing
- 4. Supply of sanitary napkins for adolescent girls for menstrual hygiene.

Adolescent Friendly Health Clinics (AFHC)

S.No	District		Name of the institutions
1	Ariyalur	1	Government Headquarters Hospital Ariyalur
		2	Government Hospital Jayamkondan
		3	Government Hospital Udayarpalayam
		4	Government Hospital Sendurai
2	Krishnagiri	5	Government Headquarters Hospital Krishnagiri
		6	Government Hospital Hosur
		7	Government Hospital Thenkanikattai
		8	Government Hospital Uthangarai
		9	Government Hospital pochampalli
		10	Government Hospital Mathur
3	Madurai	11	Government Headquarters Hospital Usilampatti
		12	Government Hospital Thirumangalam
		13	Government Hospital Melur
		14	Government Hospital Peraiyur
		15	Government Hospital Vadipatti
		16	Government Hospital Sholavandan
4	Perambalur	17	Government Headquarters Hospital Perambalur
		18	Government Hospital Veppur
		19	Government Hospital Krishnapuram
5	Thirchy	20	Government Headquarters Hospital Manapparai
		21	Government Hospital Srirangam
		22	Government Hospital Lalgudi
		23	Government Hospital Musiri

		24	Government Hospital Thuraiyur
		25	Government Hospital Thottiyam
		26	Government Hospital Thuvarankurichi
		27	Government Hospital Omandur
		28	Government Hospital Manachanalur
6	Tirunelveli	29	Government Headquarters Hospital Tenkasi
		30	Government Hospital Sankarankovil
		31	Government Hospital Kadayanallur
		32	Government Hospital Ambasamudram
		33	Government Hospital Melapalayam
		34	Government Hospital Nanguneri
		35	Government Hospital Shengottah
		36	Government Hospital Radhapuram
		37	Government Hospital Puliyankudi
		38	Government Hospital Sivagiri
		39	Government Hospital Valliyur
		40	Government Hospital Cherenmadevi
		41	Government Hospital Ayikudi
		42	Government Hospital Kalakkad
7	Tiruvannamalai	43	Government Headquarters Hospital Cheyyar
		44	Government Hospital Arani
		45	Government Hospital Polur
		46	Government Hospital Chengam
		47	Government Hospital Wandavash
		48	Government Hospital Tanipadi
8	Vellore	49	Government Headquarters Hospital Walajapet

		50	Government Hospital Tiruppathur
		51	Government Hospital Arakkonam
		52	Government Hospital Gudiyatham
		53	Government Hospital Vaniyambadi
		54	Government Hospital Arcot
		55	Government Hospital Ambur
		56	Government Hospital Pentland
9	Virudhunagar	57	Government Headquarters Hospital Virudhunagar
		58	Government Hospital Aruppukottai
		59	Government Hospital Rajapalayam
		60	Government Hospital Srivilliputhur
		61	Government Hospital Watrap
		62	Government Hospital Sathur
		63	Government Hospital Sivakasi
		64	Government Hospital Tiruchuli
		65	Government Hospital Kariapatti